Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, May. 23, 2004 - 7:28 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

The Boundaries of Tomatoes and Trellises

Skip the rant and go to good news!

AAAGH! Let me say again AAAGH!!

Why do people insist on causing conflict?

Today I cut the grass in my front yard, and couldn't help noticing that my nextdoor neighbors had decided, instead of growing a dandelion garden worthy of an organic herbiste (well, except for when they started shooting broadleaf herbicide poison shit on them, including along the fence on my flowers, bush and tomatoes)... instead of growing said dandelions, they have decided to put in some shrubs (three of four of which seem to be well on their way to dead already) and TOMATOES.

Now what is the problem... I should be overjoyed and thrilled that I don't have to go over and deadhead thousands of dandelions every week, and that they have, like me, decided to grow tomatoes in their front yard. Um yeah.

Well, they just happened to plant them along their fence, about four inches away from my tomato trellises. Not along their fence before between and after the trellises, but only directly underneath them.

Did I mention that I am now hardening my tomato seedlings to put outside in about a week???

Here is a little diagram:

The bright green things on the ground in front of the trellises are their tomatoes. You can see they would block mine from getting morning sun (I mean, who plants tomatoes less than a foot away from someone else's tomatoes?), and mine would block theirs from any sun from noon on. Duh. Not to mention the fact that unless they are bush tomatoes, they will grow above their fence ONTO my trellises, intertwining with my tomatoes and taking their space. AAGH!

Here is a couple pictures from last two years... those are all tomatoes on the trellises, right up and past the top, pointed to by the white arrows. The little white "X� at the bottom is where they have planted their tomatoes inches from the fence..
Does it LOOK like there is space on those trellises for another four plants apiece? Does it LOOK like there will be a lot of light in the afternoon at the base where they have planted??
all images Copyright 2004 Wench77

Now what the hell do I do? Since the trellis is held up by the fence, I cannot move it a foot or two into my yard (not to mention there isn't that much space between my balcony and the fence, AND it would totally block the window

Or I can ask them to move their tomatoes which are already in the ground. I could offer to help them make a similar trellis that is supported by the steps that go up to the second floor, in their yard, about 6 or 8 feet away from mine... so THEIR tomatoes would get sun all day too.

Right now they are going to be competing for water, nutrients, space, sun, and how will we be able to know which stems are whose tomatoes to trim them, and which tomatoes belong to whose plants?

See what I mean by creating conflict?? Agh and triple agh. Anyone got any great ideas?? Release horrid tomatoplant eating bugs on their plants in the next week and hope they die before I plant mine? Speak to them? What will I say. What I said here i guess. "sorry, these are my tomato trellises, as everyone in the whole neighborhood knows and remarks on, and they will be sucking water, sun and nutrients from your little tomatoes so it is in your best interests to move them. If you want a trellis I will help you." ??

I hate these sorts of things. Why can't people just use their heads (though I suppose they were, thinking, hey, look, THIS SIDE of the trellis is SORT of on our side of the fence.... we could use it without buying one ourselves!! Boy are we crafty and ressourceful!! AAAGH again.

Is it bad to write a letter?

At least I know I won't roll my eyes in a letter or shout, or pull their eyes out. hehe.

tah!

Here is my horoscope from Saturday as well as today:

Here is my horoscope for Saturday, May 22:

You could use a little downtime. Relax with someone special or with a good book. You think along different lines when your energy is lower. Maybe you'll put some of this in writing.
Hehe, "maybe I'll put some of it in writing. Hmm, me, who has an online diary and writes comics?? ME??? hehe

Here is my horoscope for Sunday, May 23:

New action sweeps you in a surprisingly different direction. You've long been aware of a truth that is only just now becoming obvious. Your thoughts take you deeper than usual -- enjoy the plunge.

New action and a surprising new direction huh. I think what is only just now becoming obvious is that I am turning into an annoying old lady who hated that there were children intruding in her backyard(that's the previous entry today). AAAGH ! I do NOT want to turn into that sort of person. My dog is like that with puppies now though she loved them when she was younger. We are becoming two old fuddyduddies. Sigh.

Well, I will put some good news just so we're not all bitchy like all the time ok?? The good news is that the animal rescue people I called about the feral cat and her kittens in the cattravelbox on the second floor balcony found a home for all of them!! Yay! They came to get them, and they are now in the countryside in the Laurentiens (sort of mountains... very nice), and they will farm the babies out when they are old enough (apparently they already have homes) and will get her spayed. yay yay yay! The guy whose catbox and balcony it was is glad too... they said they will send him news and maybe some pics of the kitties when they get bigger. yay. So that is a happy ending. There are not so many things that go well like that. Thank god for no-kill animal rescue people. If you know any, they are heroes and should be supported. Which reminds me, I should send them a check to help out.

9:16 pm Yay! I just spoke with the girl next door, and she didn't even think at all... mostly I said her tomatoes wouldn't get any sun cuz of my trellises, and she will move them. Deep sigh. I guess I shouldn't stress, but I swear I have had people blow up at me for going "um, excuse me..." for much smaller things. So we had a nice talk about plants and she will move them and put something that takes less sun. Thankgod. Now it's sort of getting late (and trying to drizzle) so I gotta go out doggywalkies.

Besides that I got this at Chaosdaily's... it's funny, you can get a flavour by doing the quiz or pick your own flavour if you don't feel it is really you. She got "alcohol: tastes like beer", and then herself she picked coffee flavour. She said she'd done it before and was Bread. Here is me. hehe. Chili huh. Well, chili goes well with chocolate... the girl I drove home last night had chocolate jalepino birthday cake for her birthday ! mmm.

What Flavour Are You? Hot hot! I am Curry Flavoured.Hot hot! I am Curry Flavoured.

I have a spicy personality. If you can take the heat, you'll love me, if not, I'll probably make you cry. I am not for the faint-hearted. What Flavour Are You?
There is a runner-up flavour too. Mine is:
What Flavour Are You? I taste like Beef.I taste like Beef.

I taste like beef. I'm probably made of beef. You are what you eat, they say, and if the title didn't mean something else, I would be a beefeater. I think red meat is good for you. Puts hair on your chest. What Flavour Are You?
Which is the ultimate in silly... perhaps I am like a beefeater, but I reall don't eat much beef. Or red meat. I had vegetarian pasta for the past four nights (hehe, yay the single life), egg salad sandwiches tonight and last, and just bought vegecretons for tomorrow. Yeah, red meat. Though let me tell ya. If I'm gonna eat beef, it will be lowly hamburger OR most scrumptiously a bleeding filet mignon. yay for blood! hehe. Oh, I mean, tofu. hehe.

6 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily