Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, May. 15, 2006 - 11:59 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Turtles Can Fly but Are They Working???

Well, I have very productively been crazily procrastinating on the only work I have. You'd think someone pays me $2000 for two drawings that I would hop to it, non? After all that is what I usually get paid for 32 pages of color, worked on for months. But no. Every day I do something else, and keep telling myself I will work on these drawings. hah.

And days go by.

I discovered yesterday about 3pm, when taking out the contract to write the name of the book on the back of the drawings, that I am actually NOT behind time, as I thought I was. They are due on the 19th. That means Friday. I can send them Thursday. Which allowed me to bum around at artsyguy's last night instead of working. hah. I thought I would work today on them. hah again.

I did get all soppy and maudlin and blubber about artsyguy not being attracted to me anymore (apparently he still finds me sexy sometimes, but heck, even my MOTHER has said I am sexy for heaven's sake. He still shows absolutely zero moves towards me, not handholding, lipkissing or anything. hah. It makes me feel unattractive. I don't have to sleep with him for heaven' sakes. I want him to WANT TO. grrrr. How can you save face if your ex doesn't still find you sexy??)

Anyways, we watched some tv show about The Knights Templar (yah, The Da Vinci Code is seeping into everything in its insipid badly written pulpass way) on the National Geographic Channel. We watched some very funny Canadian comic who was spot on for an entire hour of comedy. We missed supper and ate bowls of muesli and milk. And then I came home and went to sleep before midnight. OOOO the excitement. Faut que je d�croche.

So, the productive procrastination? I just finished the color drawings to put on my "Read Aloud In Your Home" posters and cards for my um, read aloud, project. I am deathly terrified of parents judging me on my readaloud skills now I am planning to ask for their moulah to do so. And the kids hating it. But I shall buck up and do it. If I could do swedish massage I can read aloud to kids. So, I finished the drawings. They are stinking up the whole place right now with the fixative. I could scan them in and put them into the posters (the text is all laid out) tonight, but I want to get to bed. hah. old me.

I pulled the flaking paint off the walls and ceiling in the hallway and my studio. I dusted the tops of doorframes and the light fixtures. I got rid of cobwebs in the ceiling corners. I used that Goof Off stuff to remove sticky label remainders off the front of the drawers of my drawing storage cabinet (it's been there all grey and sticky since 1994. hah again) I bought and installed a new nonrustingpaintpeelingbrokenfromatenantpunchingit black metal postbox at the front door, and a new nonbrokennonleakingnonfilthy white plastic clothespin box for the back porch (and threw out all the molding rusting clothespins). I plastered and textured and fixed the texture with damp cloth, the holes in the once-flaking paint in the hallway and studio (artsyguy told me how to texture the plaster to match... he was here yesterday afternoon putting the metal corner on the bathroom wall and plastering it. Finally) I washed off a ceramic sculpture piece I had in the bathroom, and it is now ready for me to lose some more time by epoxying all the broken bits of it back on. I did my comics page. I went climbing tonight at the climbing gym. I watched another movie: Turtles Can Fly. Anyways, yes I have been productively procrastinating.

Now I think I will give a quick review of Turtles Can Fly. It is an excellent "war" movie. In that it shows real people with real missing arms and legs (not gore, just armless kids and stuff we don't see in North America where kids don't lose their arms to mines and if they did, they would have cool electronic prostheses). In that good guys and bad guys are not that indistinguishable from the ground. In that things that happen are heartbreaking and pointless, and futile. Where things aren't heroic. Or the small things are heroic, but end up being heartbreaking and pointless and futile anyways, though uplifting and downdashing all at once. Yes, an excellent war movie.

It is all about this group of kids living in a refugee camp and village at the Iran Iraq border just a week or so before the Americans attacked Iraq in 2003. Most of the adults are incidental characters. The kids are excellent actors. Very kidlike (vs angellike, or adorable, or fakehollywoodlike). The scenery and surroundings open your eyes to what that part of the world is really like, real people, not propaganda people, or FOX news Iraq, sunny skies and saavy kids, antennas and satellite dishes, mines and raggedly clothes and beauty in broken things. It is a joint IranIraq film production.

Anyways, this is probably a shitty review. But I recommend the movie. Very much. Run and get it. Soon. Now. Watch it. Make your friends watch it. OK, don't make them. Invite them and watch it together. yes. good movie.

I have another one called Japon to watch. It is a spanish movie. yup. But not tonight. Must work on the contract tomorrow. And do a wonderful good job. No procrastinating.

nite nite.
me
wenchie.
trying to be positive
in life

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily