Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Dec. 03, 2004 - 1:59 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Watercolor Class in Detail

Hello.

another good day.

Do you know I LIKE walking around smiling? Yes I DO. Now I am listening to Patty Griffith, smoking apple tobacco in the hookah and drinking columbian black coffee. mmm.

Today in the watercolor class we had my favorite model again. I love painting directly from the model. Today we were supposed to continue the concept we did with fruit two weeks ago... where we are supposed to make the subject not differentiated from the background... to have the brushstrokes and colors on both be similar so that the object we are painting almost disappears. Here are some images... the orange etc from two weeks ago, and the model from this week. Click to see a larger version in another window.
***ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT 2004 WENCH77 THANK!!****

Note that those are just tiny details from the whole paintings.. the paper is 22" by 30" I think and my scanner is only 8.5" by 14" so that is all you get. hehe.

Before we start the larger pictures from the model we do a lot of gestural paintings with a juicy mess of just one color... she hold those poses for five minutes. Here is part of one of those... where she has a cloth wound around her hips, then pulled up in her hands near her head with bent elbow at the very top right... I don't know if you can see that in this pic. Again click for a larger detail. Sorry, but it is cheap cartridge paper so it wrinkles where the color is put on, making weird marks.

Here is a drawing from the first time we had the model in. Again it is just one part of the image (I drew all of her). I was mostly looking at the real colors I could see in her skin.
Finally, one day the teacher brought in rocks and bones and such things, and we were supposed to do first a naturalistic painting and then see shapes or animals or something anthropomorphic, like a spirit, in the natural items... I did these rocks with blotches of color, and a jawbone. Later I turned the rocks into turtle shells and the jawbone into sort of a person, or animal with the teeth as legs. I mostly just scanned in the naturalistic part of the image (I did the whole metamorphosis on the same large paper)... it isn't finished yet. I have to finish the background of that, and also the finish the self-portraits we did last week. I'll scan those in later.

Well, that is the promised entry on watercolor that I have been putting off for lack of energy for so long. I must say that getting enough sleep helps. Having money coming in helps. Being less stressed helps. I got lots of sleep yesterday... like ten hours. And then today after watercolor class I had a three hour nap. hehe. That makes a difference! So I am actually feeling human, good and smiley.

Some interesting news in the neighborhood: My favorite fruit store has moved across the street into the depanneur run by a chinese couple... I thought the depanneur was just renovating (that is Quebecois for convenience store)... I will miss buying inexpensive bouquets there... I sometimes bought them to treat myself... but my favorite fruit store, which carries many imported items and things like swiss chard and fennel which the grocery store doesn't have, has expanded. Yay! And the other cool thing is that their old location isn't closing... it is becoming an "organic only" fruit and vegetable branch. That can only be a good thing. Perhaps a bad thing for the organic coop that is several blocks to the east (that few people even know exists), but a good thing for organic visibility, ease of purchase, and for organic farmers. Yay. A whole store instead of a tiny section of overpriced no selection at the other mainstream fruit and veg store on the same street. Yay.

My doggy is happy as um, my doggy in snow, with the recent snow and cooling of temperatures. She gets to jump after little tablespoon sized lumps of snow (I go "petit neige?" before throwing it) and catch them in her mouth and chomp them up. If the piece is too big she catches it but spits it on the ground. She is funny.

On another note... I guess the story in the sketches I posted yesterday aren't so clear... It goes like this: The dog is errant and adopts Leo who detests dogs... he takes it for a walk in the forest and loses it there. The dog comes back after dinner. The next day he takes it to town in the car, and dumps it. A week later it finds its way back. So he decides to take it "fishing"... and pushes it in the water. What you don't see is that he wallops it over the head with a paddle (!!) but then loses his balance and falls in the water himself. He cannot swim and is drowning and it says that death is on its way. Then he feels a presence near him and it is the dog... The dog saves him and drags him to shore (the last picture I scanned in is him cuddling the wet dog in relief)... and then he names the dog and he follows the dog therever after instead of the dog following him.

Some people left comments that showed it looked like "the dog was saved"... it is actually the dog who saved the man... and so it is a cool moral of don't throw away your best friends you don't recognize, eh. Very dramatic. I may scan in the guy drowning another day. It will be fun to paint in. I am really looking forward to this book. Yay.

Well, in closing I will say I made some really juicy delicious kickass tuna and oldcheddar souffle tonight for supper and it was excellente. mmmm. yum. Fluffy, cheesy and not dry at all. mmmm.

Well, going to read some other diaries now.

Hope you liked the pictures. Politics maybe tomorrow instead, eh! hehe

Wenchie

doing well. Hugs

Here is my horoscope for Thursday, December 2:

Taking center stage isn't an alien feeling to you, but you'd better stand back and think things over before you strut your stuff. Not that thinking will stop you -- but it may help your publicity agents in the long run.

I have no idea what that was supposed to mean concerning today. But it is good advice in general. Cheers.

OMG I just stole this excellent quote from SquirrelX

"Selfishness is not living as one wishes to live,
it is asking others to live as one wishes to live."
__Oscar Wilde
Oh isn't that just the GREATEST quote. Yes yes yes.

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily