Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Aug. 05, 2004 - 12:49 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Happy Family Get-Togethers, Prairie Teachers and Chinese Buddha

Hullo!

I am zonked... sleeping mostly on airplanes between takeoff and landing will do that. Even crossing the Atlantic isn't really long enough for a proper night's sleep, what with all the "put your chairback in the upright position and please stow your laptop table in the chairback in front of you"... let alone a flight where you have to change planes.

A few of you seemed amazed that a family reunion could be anything but horrid, but let me tell ya, I think that I am one of the few for whom there are few unturned rocks... most of my wiggly icky bugs have been out in the open for ages, and squished.

Even my father, I got back onto good terms with, five years back at the last family reunion.

I admit to being vague about the gender pronouns when it comes to dating, but I am beginning to think that is my own shit... the most religious of my cousins who attended announced to me that her hubby's brother is gay and got married in the states to another guy recently. And she didn't seem the slightest bit flustered.... note that it is the same hubby who organized the incredibly enjoyable nonstress softballgame. I might start considering church-going men if they are like him. Dances, great with kids, tolerant, funny, low stress, good for everyone's egos. Jeepers.

My cousins and I were discussing the day after the reunion, that many of them who live closer and see each other on a more regular basis than I have not had the space to have that real break that allows you to come back as a different older person and get out of childhood roles.

They were amazed that when I asked a cuz who was snottola incorporated in her youth "what is an inning?" during the ballgame, that instead of making fun and sneering, she openly and nicely answered the question. Same ex-snottola was really nice to me five years ago as well at the last reunion, when I said to her "you know, you were insufferable as a kid, and as a teen were snotty and made us feel put down and left out". She acted sort of surprised and said, gee, me? I'm sorry!...

I think what makes these things enjoyable for me is that old shit gets confronted, or replaced, with better interactions. And that may not be true for some of my cousins who still have these clouds of years of bad interactions hanging over them. Also perhaps not all of them were able to practice toughlove on their Dad, as I did, to great effect, over the years.

Calling a spade a spade, and putting my foot down. I think it helps.

I do think that my family made leaps and bounds of healthy changes since the 80's, which lightens things... alcoholic uncles were left by aunts who decided to expand their lives, get educations and jobs. Quite a change when many of them had 6-8 kids and were farm wives. There was a lot of AA, Alanon, Alateen action in the family in the late 80's early 90's, which really helps with the horrid secret, bad behaviour behind closed doors thing. Though I do wonder about OUR generation, now that our parents have cleaned up their act alot.

Interestingly there are probably half of us 30 plus cousins who aren't married or have no kids. I sat down next to one guy, perhaps 5-6 years my elder, and said "so, you married with six kids yet?!!"... (I added the six kids cuz I knew NONE of us could say yes to that one, so "no" wasn't as excluding)... he cringed and said "no, not married, no kids"... and I answered, "me neither"... He visibly relaxed, and I actually got him to chuckle by adding "isn't it better when the one who asks you that can say no too?!"

It does affect me somewhat though that there are at least 6 female cousins within my age group (2-3 years of age from me) who are happily married with great kids, including my favorite cousin and childhood playmate, Portia. I always had assumed as a child that our kids would be close and play together, and be great friends as we were. Her's and her sister's kids are close like that, going to the cottage together, having sleepovers etc. I really feel like I have missed the boat.

Well, I am too tired to go into the rest of the trip. I shall leave you with a few photos. All Copyright 2004 Wench77. Here is a Buddha I bought... He is very heavy (cast bronze?) and only about 2 and a half inches tall. Lovely.

And here is the cover of a book I bought in a comics shop that took some of my comics to sell. I totally couldn't pass it up. It is self-explanatory. :)

Hope you have all been well. Me yup. Though noticing how stiff I get from polkaing and playing softball. More physical fitness regiment to come!

tah,

hugs to me, wenchie.

Here is my horoscope for Wednesday, August 4:

Getting you to hold back from saying anything and everything that's on your mind won't be easy. Easier than dissuading you from pursuing something with everything you've got, maybe, but not easy. Don't be persuaded. Pursue at will.

11 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily