Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Music Today: Willy Nelson

Reading today: "Lullaby" by Chuck Palahniuk

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Oct. 25, 2003 - 1:10 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Reading Chuck Palahniuk


You are Survivor.



What Chuck Palahniuk novel are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

I guess I need to read "Survivor".... didn't even know it exists, let alone me BEING that novel. Hmmm... Terrified of God and Sex. Is this me?? I dunno... the choice of answers on this quizilla are weird... and that is normal I guess.

No one seems to be in Diaryland today. I dont know that anyone has read my rant on stray animals... anyhow, no one has commented. I am NOT Jessica Lovejoy. I must write more often about sex. Yes, sex brings em in.

I am reading Chuck Palahniuk's novel "Lullaby"... I am having a hard time putting it down. Which is a bad thing since it is only 260 pages. If something is going to be a pageturner, it should have at least 400 so you don't finish it too quickly. So far, I'm having a great read, and am surprised by the protagonists and the plot. I don't know what I expected... I DID enjoythe guy on the radio , so I don't know why I'm surprised I like his novel. But knowing he wrote the Fight Club(which I have neither read, nor seen the movie of) I had some idea of a real boy's book... he-men with guns. Lots of action.

It does have lots of death, but it is more like a strange alternative movie than an Arnold Schwarzenegger one. The characters are quirky. And interestingly enough the most grating character so far, which overtly we are supposed to want dead, I suspect is someone Chuck covertly agrees with... he, Oyster, has this nonstop stream of information about ruining the planet...zebra mussels, the meat industry, cheatgrass. I got curious about the accuracy of this when I saw names and numbers bandied about: supposedly in the 1870's a man named Spencer Baird seeded all of America with European Carp. This is a good thing to verify on Google. Yup... the man is known as the father of the modern fish industry. What do you know. Mr. Palahniuk is a fountain of ecoterrorist (not the modern ones, but the inadvertent ones who fucked up ecosystems to start with) knowledge. The man is more interesting to me every minute.

Unfortunately I looked him up as well on Google... which is how I came across the above Quizilla... and it seems he is sort of a fanclub jerkoff figure... a real cult posterboy. Damn and drat. I HATE liking someone I want to hate, and then on top of it feeling like a fucking sheep to boot. Oh well! I shall continue to enjoy the book, and probably read more of his writing.

It is less bananas as far as plot is concerned than Tom Robbins, and he has a nice spare writing style... detailed but succinct... which is a nice break after Tom's overthetop baroque use of metaphors and similies.

Well, back to work on Bear. I cancelled a "maybe" scrabble date (no, not a DATE date, a date with a couple who are friends of mine... as IF i had a date date... hah!) in order to work on Bear... and it is going well except for a slight color hic in deciding what bedspread he will have that will fit into all the bedroom drawings. I wanted yellow, but I think that will NOT work... must decide must decide. byebye...

I'll be back later...

In the meantime, read yesterday's about the stray animals, huh! thanks!

And please do my two new surveys, called "Sexaddict", "DirtyLaundry" and "Breakup", okay?

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily