Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Apr. 26, 2004 - 7:25 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

The Tax Man Comes Calling

ACK ACK ACK!!

I just spoke with my accountant who will bring my income taxes over tomorrow.

Despite working like a crazy fool last year, I was constantly broke, or rather, way into my credit margin, ie feeling constantly in debt. Nothing like knowing you have earned lots of money, but have not received it. Hard to spend it on things when it comes in 5-6 months after one has earned it.

So now when it was all paid up finally in February and I have broken even, and then put money out for printing all those comic books and going to San Fran to launch them, I dumped the US Client who kept me on this highpaying but no money in pocket hamster wheel.

Thus no incoming $ for the past couple months, and now I find out I owe something like $10,000 in income tax. Lovely lovely. Do I have $10,000 to give the tax people? Hahahaha.

I DID earn $125 last week talking to those kids at the library on Friday. youppeeee.

So now I will be in the hole again, trying to climb out, so will not put $ aside for NEXT year's taxes. And then same problem. It is esp a drag when I have not enough paying work for the first half of the year, then work like crazy all fall, bill in Nov or Dec, and so get paid for it in Jan or March.

It means that I never have money in the fiscal year to spend on expenses which will bring down my income. If I earn $50,000 and can spend $20,000 on business shit, then I am taxed on $30,000. But if I earn the $50,000 and am not paid til the next fiscal year, then I am taxed on $50,000. The $ goes straight to the tax people with no possibility of me investing it into my business.

This of course makes me even happier about the effin Bear people, who seem to think we are investing in THEIR business. Of course. By THEM having all the self-employed creator's money, they can spend on staff, promotional materials, etc, and then pay us once they have made a profit, and have lower taxes cuz they have been cashrolled by us. Us however get the same dollar amount, but no possiblity to make it work for us over the year, or to use it for expenses which will lower our taxable income. On paper it is $ earned if I bill it, even if it is not paid.

The fuckers. Ah, but I should be PROUD and HAPPY to have my work in print with my name on it. Fuckers. glll.

Well, back to working on something beautiful that makes me $1000 Cdn over a period of 6 months. Tell me how that is actually "earning a living".

Oh yeah, did I say I was at some point wondering if I could put aside enough $ to adopt, or enough time to spend with a kid? Let me laugh again HAHAHAHA.

Hamster Wheel Hamster Wheel squeak squeak squeak. The faster you run the more it sqeaks.

I think I'll have a smoke.

Yes, that is the shirt from whence comes the Ganesha on my template. That is me smoking the hookah, the shirt was ob's at that point. puff puff. The God of Obstacles, or removing them hmmm.

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily