Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Music Today: The Dresden Dolls

Reading Today: Canadian Takes on the US Election

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004 - 1:43 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Good Day Bad Day, Weird Day Weird Day

They are saying on the radio now ... about president bush (I don't think I'm going to capitalize it anymore) that "he is very legitimate now".

fuck.

I keep reminding myself that FIFTY PERCENT of the population did NOT vote for him. Half of the population did not vote for him.

I am so tired.

I have much work to do.

I have to stop having a life and work more.

Or stop putting work last.

Silly me to want a life.

I have a huge headache.

But I had a good day.

Except for the depressing US news.

3:03 am

Well, the most interesting things happen at 3am. I just got an email from a publishing company from South Korea which is interested in working with me. Haha, their website is totally in some language my computer cannot read. So I see book covers and lots of questionmarks. :) They do some educational books for English however, and the english in the email is quite fine. I hope I can work with them... it would be so interesting. I do wonder about how exactly the bank will greet checks from a bank in South Korea. I assume they will pay me in US dollars. Which is perhaps a silly assumption! Apparently they saw my portfolio online and want to offer me work in their English as a second language children's books. I am wondering if it was through googling, or if it was through this website I found, which seems to be a personal weblog in Chinese or somesuch (more of them omnipresent question marks... one can often tell at least what language something is in when you see the script... ie Arabic vs Japanese. But with question marks it could be Swahili or Taiwanese. hmmm)... anyhews, the website featured an artist a day, with a link to our websites. It was unauthorized use of copyrighted images but since it only seemed to link directly to us, it seems sort of like free advertising vs stealing our images.

I will have to ask how they found my portfolio online. That is good for marketing.

Ahh. you can see I have finished putting the greytones in the work i must send off tomorrow before my watercolor class, so I am writing in paragraphs vs the short sentences of pre-finishing the work (above).

Yesterday was a weird day. The american election. An email announcing the suicide of an acquaintance. A letter from my mom with a card saying she misses me and she has not seen me for three years and that has never happened since I was born. That made me cry. Missing my bus to the show last night. (dang i am getting old, my hips, knees and shins totally ache today from the walk there and back)

Today was a weird day the opposite way. The lady from the Stonewall Awards said I could send all 12 requested sample copies of my comic book to her fedex instead of sending them separately to each of the jurors across the states. Do you know how much less trouble and cost that entails? YAY!! I got a totally surprise visit from Disappearing Boy (the one who painted my kitchen in fauxfini 5 years ago, and who spent Christmas Eve with me this past year)... the doorbell rang and there he was! I had no clue he was even in town. I tell ya, if his teeth didn't smell bad (now this is a nasty thing to say), I'd do him. He and I still get along great. He is staying in town at his parents, apparently girlfriendless and homeless. He like me has more morals than business sense. And seems to pick fucked up girlfriends.

And then I decided NOT to run out in the middle of cooking and chatting with him to get my organic vegetable box. Bad me, I was a noshow. But somehow while scalding chinese cabbage from my garden to freeze, and still with a bag of kale and swisschard and beet greens to deal with, that didn't seem a bad thing... fewer vegetables. I was cooking up a storm with the pumpkin from Halloween to 1) freeze it in edible form and 2) prove to my upstairs tenant, let's call her Surprise Girl (since it turns out she's a dyke and here I was afraid she was some homophobic but nice straight girl immigrated from Haiti)... anyways, to prove to Surprise Girl that pumpkin is indeed edible.

I cooked Tunisian Pumpkin Soup with Spice Swirl (it has parsnips, carrots, tomato juice, apple juice and spices galore: cumin, coriander, cinnamon, ground caraway seeds (they got carried away on the c-words). Also nutmeg and cloves. And cilantro. hehe. And lemon juice which is citron in french. Also I cooked Porcini Pumpkin Soup, which also has quite a few spices, and apple juice, but also mushrooms, sherry and soy sauce. It is darkly fragrant and sort of smoky in feel. mmmm. I made North African Couscous (it is a bit too sweet, because of the lemon and orange juice and peel I think)... with red pepper, garlic, fresh ginger... And also Pumpkin Spice Cake, which is just what it sounds like. However either my oven overheats or the low end of 50-60 minutes bake time should be revised to the high end. It is soft and tasty, but burnt on the edges. Dang. Must be all the honey. Low burning point I think.

Anyways, Disappearing Boy barely left and Surprise Girl arrived. Bringing excellent chicken. When I am sanding and patching the walls (not in that order) in her place she always seems to be cooking chicken and it smells great, so it seemed to be a safe bet to ask her to bring! hehe. Yup. It was great... she cooks it with tomato paste and onions... baked after boiling it. I haven't the patience. And there are leftovers mmmm.

So we had taste test with a beer for her and apple juice for me, and she tried everything and liked pretty much all (except for finding the couscous too sweet). She has a way better attitude than my father... his is "I don't eat that". And hers is "I'll have some more, most things taste better once your mouth gets used to the taste". Ie she went from "hmmm, maybe" about the Porcini Pumpkin soup and ended up asking for seconds. She took a little pot of each of the soups home. This is the girl who told me she doesn't like soups. Now it turns out she will eat soup but doesn't like to make it. As she was leaving she was like "maybe we can exchange meat for soup... I like cooking meat and you like cooking soup". heh! that would be cool! Expand my diet.

So we had a great time. She is very funny and likes making puns and poking fun. Lots of laughing. Maybe I'll end up having a friend in my very own building. That would be cool. Even things that surprise her she just makes jokes about and laughs. We looked at photos of me dressed up when I go out, after she surprised me by saying she was butchy dyke and now she is a femme... haha, I only see her in sweatpants. (though she does have very funny huge fluffy pink pig slippers... that's not very butchy).

And now I have gotten an email with a job offer from South Korea. Yesterday was weirdly sadly and badly and today is weirdly funny and sociable. I prefer today. yeah.

Well, I have typed long enough. I think the drawings are dry enough to spray with fixatif and wrap up for Fedex. Dang. I wish I was in bed. I have to be up at 10:30 am for my watercolor class. Today I only had 5 hours sleep cuz somehow I was totally ridiculously busy until 7:30 am, when I put out the recycling on the curb and got to sleep.

Tomorrow night I HAVE to start on the dog picturebook. It is totally stressing me out that I am procrastinating on it. Busy as hell, but not making it a priority and it's gonna bite me in the butt.

Ps, Disappearing Boy liked the aesthetics and music of the Dresden Dolls. Do you think I'd be insane to offer to have him move into the livingroom now that Yogagirl is out? Yes, that would be insane. We'd talk too much. We have INTERMINABLE conversations. Well, when I dated him in 1988, we stopped talking to have sex. And sang. Hmmm.

Silly me, what am I thinking. nahhhhhh. But he told me to call.
Gotta run!
zoom zoom!
(Look Dad how unhappy and angry I am ooooooo!)

tah!
hugs, me
wenchie.

5:26 am Dangity dang. Yes it is 5:30 am and I am still up. I just finished calling Fedex after scanning in all those drawings and packing them up. And yes I am guilty of then noticing SquirrelX had posted a new entry. Please read it. I too want to die with my face in a chocolate cake. Or at least a cake. Yeah. Amen. nite nite.

Here is my horoscope for Wednesday, November 3:

An argument could come up this afternoon after someone inadvertently lets a secret become public. Don't be too mad -- if it was unintentional. If it wasn't? Well, then you'd be right to go off with both barrels blasting.

THere was no argument. No publicly let out secret. Nothing. Though I do appreciate someone telling me that in certain situations I would be right to go off with both barrels blasting. Now I need to get to sleep cuz I gotta be out of bed in 5 hours. This watercolor class is killing me. zzzz. 10 hours sleep in two nights is not enough. 15-16 is enough. cheers.

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily