Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Feb. 02, 2005 - 5:29 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Dang Where is my HEAD??

Well, dang. You know you have done too many drawings in too few days when you have cramps up your arms, your fingers hurt, your elbow aches, and you feel it when doing everything from cooking to shovelling snow. Not good. Not when it is only the first three units of the first two books in your series of six books for South Korea, each of which has ten units.

Not good. Now you remember that year you earned enough money to buy your house. How you spent a lot of time and money at the chiropractor... who told you you worked too much and that's why you couldn't raise your arm or put on your bra or coat without pain. A lot of time and money at the physiotherapist, who made you do all sorts of stretches and shit and work deep into your tissues once a week for months. $65 a shot, that's $260 a month it is.

Dang.

You know that you are a little batty when you get out your corningware to microwave your oatmeal... and pour the dog kibble into it.

You know you are not quite there when you run the water in the sink for your nifty "get the dishes done" trick... and then forget it so it ends up all cold, instead of hot and washed... And then the next day when you again run the hot water into the dishes, and you have eaten dinner, and then you are reading your emails and you sort of go "omigosh I've done it again! I've forgotten to wash the dishes again!" and rush into the kitchen, and the dishes are all done and in the drying rack and you hadn't remembered that this day you DID do them!

Dang.

When you think, dang, it is late and I still haven't eaten supper and go into the kitchen and see the dirty dishes and realize, well, dang, you DID eat supper, and it was very good, but you totally forgot.

Deary me. Where is my head.

I DID get most of the work done for the South Korea people... I will go and upload some of the pics so you can see... 16 little drawings per page, 5 larger drawings per page... 12 pages in all... in four days. That's quite a few little kids... I have still to do three or four larger scenes.. full page ones... but the deadline is Friday so I am ok. Now I will work on the Leo's Dog book a bit. I have spent the last two or three hours making little paper samples of different plaid patterns in different colors to see which look good on the paintings, before I paint in Leo's shirt. Decisions decisions.

Funny how much time all the decisions decisions take.

I've spent more time surfing on the internet than I have doing exercise. Bad me. I really need to do that half hour a day exercise I'd planned to do. It is so much easier to stay sitting down however. At least it has been less cold and doggy is less stiff so we have been walking more on our walkies... and playing tugowar with her is SORT of exercise. But I think I need stretching. I KNOW I need stretching.

Well, if you didn't yet, go back and read my gay marriage rant from earlier today.

And here is an excellent site called "12 Reasons Gay Marriage will Ruin Society" hehe. Yes it is a satire sort of thing. But go down to the bottom and click on their PDF's which are absolutely fantastic. They are posters that are clear and well-laidout and easy to read and digest. They have information by date on the history of marrying interracially, the history of women's rights in marriage (yes, women were declared property of men, yes women were declared to cease to be legal beings while married since they were considered to be subsumed into their husbands, yes the age of consent for girls in the states was ten), the history of divorce... very very informative in a short snappy form. Eyeopening.

And so yeah, Society will be Ruined if Anything Changes Now in the definition of Marriage. Basically the only thing traditional about the definition of marriage is that it changed CONSTANTLY and EVOLVED OVER TIME all the time. Marriage in any decade was not the same, marriage in every century was not the same, marriage in every millenium was not the same. They all were all different depending on cultural mores at the time. Whether it was ok to beat your wife. Whether it was legal to have slaves. Whether religions were allowed to intermarry. Whether there were arranged marriages, bride prices, dowries etc. Sigh.

There is NO definition of TRADITIONAL marriage. Not even any definition of religious marriage holds.

Thank god, on the radio (CBC Radio One) they are reading now... "King Solomon had hundreds of wives, as well as concubines... ".. .hehe, now they are talking about "mail order brides"... oh the sacredness of marriage. I am SOOO glad I live in a country where the National radio gives out proper history like this.

Hehe they just said "it is a permanent fidelity with love between two adults, requiring neither permanence, fidelity nor love" hehe. Great definition.

Oh dear, can you tell here in Canada it is the number one political thing on the agenda now? The prime minister is staking his political stability on changing the definition to include gay couples. I think that is great. But we hear about it in the news alot alot alot. Alot. Very much. Alot. A L O T.

Meantime in the states, a group called the "Arlington Group" has written a letter:

In a confidential letter to Karl Rove, Mr. Bush's top political adviser, the group said it was disappointed with the White House's decision to put Social Security and other economic issues ahead of its paramount interest: opposition to same-sex marriage.

Here' s what I replied to the friend who sent me the email that news in it:

.... ooooh it is true, people are DYING of HUNGER because of same-sex marriage! Families are having to beg in the streets because of gay marriage! Little old ladies are on the street because of gay marriage! American's international debt is going through the ceiling because of gay marriage! It is THE number one pressing issue in america today! paramount!!

hehe.

Yup. Paramount. More important than soldiers dying in Iraq. More important than mounting debt, more important than education, healthcare, financial security for the elderly. Society will fall... note it has fallen in Ontario... gays have been marrying there for over a year, nearly two. It has fallen in Vermont, and Quebec, dang. EVERYWHERE that the courts have said that gays can marry, Christians are dying in the streets, being banned from praying, unable to enter churches, divorcing like flies... do flies divorce?

Sorry, I have to stop this... maybe I need to turn off the radio. The problem is there are more Christian nuts than gays. And that's why this is not a majority voting issue... it is a minority rights issue. Sigh.

I really gotta get to bed. Sun is good for me. Must be up before the sun goes down.

Tah!

cheers.
Wenchola
Patola
hugs to me and you.

OK OK here are some pictures of what I'm drawing millions of. Millions.

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily