Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, May. 31, 2004 - 12:07 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

An Busy Gardener is an Exhausted Gardener

My god gardening is exhausting. This is why farmers go to bed early, not because they are up early. Because they are exhausted. Then they get up early cuz they have had enough sleep by early morning . hehe.

Today I chopped down the bush in the front yard. It is the second time I have done so. It is unkillable. Every summer I chop off two feet when it blocks the window from my studio. But it grows up again. I chop two feet again. It grows up again.

So about three years ago I chopped it to the ground. It still grew up again. And now I chopped it again. It totally was blocking out light to my tomato trellises (and we know what an issue I have about THOSE now hehe). I also bought coroplast to put along the outside of the trellises to keep our respective roots in place. It is so dumb. If she had put her tomatoes someplace they didn't compete with mine, I wouldve been happy to help her build a trellis, happy to give her some of my compost and happy to help water them if she was busy.

But because she has put them in such an invasive of my space place, I am feeling so "keep your roots out of my compost and water". It is sort of like if a stranger came and sat down without being invited at your table in a restaurant. If they had sat at another table, you wouldn't mind passing the sugar or giving them your ashtray. But be damned if you are going to be nice with them breathing down your neck.

Anyways, I chopped the bush, but didn't get the coroplast down yet cuz I went to work in the real garden, the community one.

I got lots done... I put in bedding plants: basil, peppers, swisschard, parsley, yellow zucchini. I also seeded beetberries (who the hell knows what that is? it will be a new surprise experience!), two sorts of bush beans, some white dry beans, beets, snow peas, chinese cabbage, and red stem swiss chard and siberian kale. One can never have too many green leafy veggies in the freezer over the winter I say. :) I think that is about it.

The garden guy was sort of nice and gave me some onion sets to put in... I have never grown onions before. And the lady who was there last night came back and gave me this other sort of onions which grow very tall, then make a bunch of new onion bulbs at the top of a stem. I have seen them and they are very curious. I have no idea what they are but apparently they multiply and then you are like giving them away to everyone like she did to me. hehe. She says she puts the little onions in beef bourguinon. mmm.

Now i feel exhausted. I already said that. hehe.

I still have the front yard (all the tomatoes, more swiss chard, herbs, lettuce, peppermint) to plant, as well as the backyard (the hostas and vines). I think I will move a large hosta from the front yard to the back. It has grown and grown and is sort of hidden. I think it would be great surrounded by the small ones out back.

Some ducks seem to have adopted the partially filled swimming pool next to the community garden as their home. They will be shocked when it is filled completely, and has chlorine and hundred of screaming jumping people. I wish the ducks could stay instead. They quack quite nicely.

Other than that the garden man gave me a bunch of papers. The "new garden rules from the city... some small changes but important anyways" he said. I can see i already break a gazillion rules. I had a bad attitude about the chores... apparently that is not civic minded and one can be expelled for bad attitude. I go after dark. Apparently it is only open dawn to dusk (though the guy told me last year they didn't follow that rule). No animals, and I always bring my dog. The garden guy even petted her tonight while she was tied next to my garden. I don't carry my garden membership card on me at all times. I am a bad garden person.

Also, they put in with the paperwork, a page with everyone's work shifts (chores) that they did last year. It lists our last name, then the dates ticked off that we did our 2 obligatory chores for, and several people are written as "expulsed midsummer", "expulsed sept 1", "expulsed Nov 2". Now why the heck do they need to give this list to all of us? It seems like if someone is expulsed only they need to know that, not the whole neighborhood. Very strange.

Well, now I am going to do some more drawings for that adult language book and maybe get outside to bundle up all the bush branches which I just dumped where I chopped them. chop chop! :)

later, and hope you all are happy gardeners too!

wenchie, me

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily