Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

listening to: Blues on CBC Radio One

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Mar. 27, 2005 - 12:19 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

A Song for Vegetarians

hehe. It is blues night on the radio tonight... a welcome change from the light classical I usually turn off.

I had to write an entry to jot down this great song someone requested... a woman had said "I heard this song like 30 years ago and it has stuck in my head... it was something like it didn't matter if the guy was skinny cuz his arms were like rubber bands".. hehe. Now that is some tantalizing song description I tellya. Apparently it sent the CBC Radio geeks a digging, cuz they did come up with the song, and it has been re-released on cd.

It is called "It ain't the meat, it's the way ya move it"... hehe. Now how is THAT for a song title? And the song is pretty much what one would think with a title like that... very spicy hehe. Now I want the record it's on, Waitress in a Donut Shop by Maria Muldaur. Cooooool! Apparently there's another song called Gringo en Mexico. hehe.

How great is that??

OK, back to work.
me,
wenchie


Are you a Seme or Uke?

I have no idea what a Seme or an Uke is. hehe. Well, I'll do another Uke selector quiz from Quizilla (yes, I googled uke... I thought it was someone that they practice martial arts on, but I haven't gotten there yet...)ukeseme
The Yaoi Selector: Which Uke are You?

brought to you by Quizilla

yeah right. I thought I was going to find out what KIND of Uke I am, and instead it says I am a Seme, and would kill rather than be a Uke. So that's pretty screwy. I guess I am just a fencesitter. hehe. A bit of both. Anyways, if you try to do those, you have to save the images to your diary from the results pages cuz the links to the images don't work. tah!

1:19 am Well there was a great interview with this woman Carol Fran who was a blues singer from Louisiana in the early days of the blues... and an excellent rendition of this song:

Cut: CRY ME A RIVER
Recording Format (Medium): CD
Album Title: WOMEN IN (E)MOTION- CAROL FRAN
Spine: T&M 108
Label: TRADITION & MODERNE
Very good, very emotional, very funny since she makes little aside comments in that recording to the live audience during the instrumental parts about boy oh boy, yeah, he can cry a river now cuz he was such a shit to her before. Carol herself in studio had tears in her voice, she said that was the best recording of that song she had ever done, her best performance of it. That those were the best days of her life. Dang. Things like that from older people make me cry.

Yesterday on the radio was a piece about dealing with parents who are aging and needing help from their adult children. How it can take years and years to die these days and chronic care is often provided by the children... the producer's mother was ill for 14 years. It was a hard show to listen to... pertinent since my mom had chronic fatigue syndrome... well she still does, but about ten years ago she was really bad and I had to go take care of her. Cooking and cleaning, shopping etc. She had homecare come in to help wash her hair etc. And then when she moved here she had an electric scooter to get around and I had to do all her errands. It was so hard.

It is like the roles are reversed and it is very difficult on everyone and they spoke of that. And I found it hard because now she is more independent, but she is in her early 60's, so it will happen again as she gets old. And now she has moved away, and things got strained between us when she was here... she was hateful and angry and difficult and I don't have the same selfless volition to run to her aid and help her that I had ten years ago, or even five years ago. And that makes me afraid.

Will I have to give up my life and move closer to her to take care of her? She certainly will not move back here. Will my brother care for her? Fat chance. It really does worry me. I don't feel like running to my dad's side either, but he has a wife, and he has another daughter who is closer to him, etc etc. So I feel less responsible. But I am the oldest daughter the only daughter for my mom, she is single, and my brother is not the caretaking kind. Dang.

Oh well. Back to work.

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily