Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Jun. 15, 2005 - 2:15 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Another Day of Wasting Time Yay

Interesting things on which I have wasted time today:

Filling out a poll on Quebec Separation. (go ahead, do it, very few have so far and it is open to everyone).

Reading the results of said poll.

Why? My father brought it up the other night. Yes I finally, after 6 months, returned his calls. There is only so much active avoidance one can do. Sigh. And we chatted about this and that, and he tried to get me into a large discussion on Quebec separation, and having a federal election. He thinks there should be a nation-wide referendum on Quebec separation... he basically thinks that Quebec should leave and quit the bellyaching. Yay. It is wonderful to have some member of my family want me to suddenly be in another country and have to live through the financial, emotional and social disturbances that a secession would bring. Cripey.

The last referendum there was some good... depending who you are. Makers of Quebec flags made a killing. Real estate agents made a killing since many sold and moved to the rest of Canada so they wouldn't be stuck here. Renters hit the jackpot since so many left the province that it was a renter's market. Since the politics don't look like separation here, rents have tripled. For landholders and landlords, it was a killer. Rents were a third of what they are now and there were many vacancies. For small businesses, especially those who supply luxury items (ie my friends who refinish antique furniture, and artist friends who try to sell paintings), it was killer since no one was willing to invest in anything. Many rich anglophones, whether from the states or the rest of Canada, moved lots of holdings, and their primary place of residence outside Quebec. The price of many goods went down, since business was bad. So that was good for poor people. Many entrepreneurs became poor people. unless of course they sold quebec flags, bumper stickers and posters or recorded pro-quebec separatist songs.

Crikey.

As a landlord it would be bad. But I could always sell and become a renter since the rents would become reasonable.

Anyways, my father has become a pro-Conservative party, anti-Quebec, anti-Liberal, anti-gay marriage (oh yes, he says there should be a referendum, yet again... apparently he would be gungho about the majority deciding whether HE should be allowed to marry or not, based on his choice of partner and sexlife). Grrr.

I told him the average citizen here in Quebec isn't gungho about separation, despite rattling of political warrattles, soley based upon anger over the ruling Liberal party's last federal referendum mess, as seen in the much publicized Gomery inquiry. Ironically much tax money went into paying for pro-federal advertising that was never actually carried out... the scandal is that the $ wasn't used as invoiced... when funnily enough if it HAD been used as invoiced (ie scandal-less), it would have flooded Canada and Quebec with pro-federal advertising, helping the anti-separation cause. So it is weird that the separatists would bitch about some graphic arts companies being paid and NOT doing the work of helping the federalists. Too funny.

I told him that being upset with the Liberals didn't mean they wanted separation. Everyone is upset with the liberals, whether you are federalist or separatist. And that also doesn't translate into wanting an election, since there is no one we want to vote for (ok ok, I want to vote for Jack Layton of the New Democratic Party, but he'll never get in... the current minority government where the ruling Liberals need to compromise with Layton in order to stay in power is the best scenario I can think of at this moment)... no, we'd want an election if it would IMPROVE things. Voting in Stephen Harper, the nasty little bastard, is like voting in Bush to get rid of Clinton. urk. Stephen Harper would be happy to take BC and Alberta and run for it. He would hand Quebec to the ruling bloc quebecois in Quebec, and let the rest of the country wander around wondering what hit. Yay for him being a ruler of the whole country.
Bah.

HE thinks that gays are bad. HE thinks that guns are good. HE thinks Quebec is a pain. HE thinks that Bush is good. HE thinks that business and money should rule. HE is a smarmy greedy pigfaced ass. Sorry bout the insult to pigs and asses. Can you tell I like the guy?

It is too bad. My father was for good progressive politics when I was growing up. He was into the cooperative movement and social benefits, liberal attitudes and openness about sexuality, for the environment and not for big business. It is sad to see people get old and bitter and closeminded. Oh well.

OK, the other thing I was wasting my time on was looking at photos of the very cute World's Smallest Hotel, the Grand Hotel de Kromme Raake in the Netherlands, which they talked about just now on the radio. It was apparently done from a joke. Someone asked the owner what he was going to do with this small building, and he quipped "build the world's smallest hotel" and the guy (a journalist I guess) said, ooo, i am so gonna write a story on you when you don't do it. So he did it... turned the building into the world's smallest hotel. It has a reception desk with only one key, cuz there's only one room. And you have breakfast served privately to you in the breakfast room since there is no one else staying at the hotel. Very fun.

And finally, listening to how they say the sounds of animals and vehicles in different countries. What a great way to waste time!

Today I decided to do things as they come, and not freak cuz I can't do it all. It is my new positive attitude. I get as much done as possible, while taking time to actually have a life, and well, that's just how it will be. I am tired of rushing around trying to absorb everyone else's delays and deadline freakouts. I am going to go forward and onward with the adoption thing, and if they say I am too in debt, I will fix it. If they say I don't have enough time, I will drop things then. I will not worry in advance. This is how I got an art career. I stopped saying all the reasons I couldn't do it, such as no portfolio in illustration, no knowledge of the industry, no training in illustration, and I just made some calls and started. And look where I am now, with a degree in ceramics, hah! So there. I will get that damn kid.

A funny thing tonight... I got a call from the owner of this other huge dog, a pyrenee des montagnes, which is like a huge white saint bernard, but actually is a sort of Swiss sheep herding dog. He started with "This is Bob, who had Sherpa"... well, yeah. "who HAD Sherpa"... I picked up on it right away.

The dog was 14 which is like 103 for a dog, and hadn't been able to get up for several months... he had to lift him up and then the dog could walk for five minutes. But then for a week or so he couldn't get out at all, and he had to carry him everytime the dog needed to pee or poop. The dog would bump on the floor with his paw when he wanted to be moved or go outside. But one night he didn't wake him up at all, and in the morning he went to see, and the dog's legs were all floppy and didn't move at all, and he was lying in his pee.

So he took the dog to the vet and had him put down, and now he is all sad and lonely cuz he had that dog for 12 years and took him EVERYWHERE... work, to his friends, everywhere. I'd bump into him driving down the street and he always had his dog in the car. Last year he made a trailer for behind his bike like my dog's trailer. So I listened to him and said the right things and told him to call back if he needs to talk about it. And he took the phone # of the Saint Bernard people where I got my doggy, cuz he was thinking of getting another dog.

And then an hour later I walked my doggy in the park and bumped into this couple I've only met like once before. And weirdly enough they were asking about my dog, and mentioned that they know someone who had given their father a dog, and the father died of cancer recently, and that the dog never was properly trained and now they don't have time at all for the dog, who is a one year old male Pyrenees de montagnes. They wanted to know if I already had a Saint Bernard if I'd like another large dog. Nope.

But I got their # and called Bob who HAD Sherpa, and told him and he is quite interested. How is that for luck.

The people in the park said "God works in mysterious ways" and I said I didn't believe in God, but as long as we're all respectful that we live in a universe that is amazing and bigger than we can imagine, it is fine to believe in God or Allah, or be buddhist or whatever, and sometimes things work out well. heh.

Anyways, I hope it works out. That would be cool, cuz Bob needs a dog.

OK< back to work! tah!
oh and I can eat now! YAY!!!!! No more toast and applesauce.

tah!
me
wenchie

Oh yes! You can also look at George W. Bush in dog poop!! yay! I think it says in the comments on that site where you can download them little flags and do it yourself! cool!

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily