Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Tuesday, Nov. 02, 2004 - 5:08 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Wenchie Says Let Bush Win

Egads got to get to sleep. I overestimated how much work i could get done today, and didnt' finish what I told my client i would have done. I hate working on projects when they are a month or two behind schedule. I should have been doing this the first week in September. But now it is not meeting a deadline, it is "when can you have it done??", and it seems that taking even a reasonable amount of time is dallying. I realize now that calculating one day to do the pen lines with ink and one day to do the greytones was just not enough for the number of drawings they have suddenly approved (when I said "for tuesday" they had only approved half of them, but the other half they approved Fri late ... ie I got the email at 10 pm, and this morning Dang).

Well, it is election day in the states.

I hate to say it but now I want Bush to win, in a bad sort of way. Cuz I think he'll drive the economy to hell. He'll bankrupt the schools and social security, the police departments and everything but the military machine, ie not the soldiers, who he seems to disdain other than lip service, but the military machine... the corporations who make bombs and planes, and shields for bombs and anti-missile pie in the sky systems... and the corporations who get posh contracts rebuilding what they blow up. What a racket.

I used to say that cigarettes were the perfect product... unlike beer, they evaporate into thin air whether you consume them or not once they're lit, and they are habit forming and addictive. But I swear military shit is much better. Cigarettes don't cost millions or billions apiece and must be replaced immediately upon use. And cigarettes cost some health problems that you can then give out contracts to aid, but lung cancer is incurable as far as I know. Whereas when you bomb something you not only consume one product, the bomb, you also get to get paid to fix the consequences of using that product. Wow.

Make bombs and then rebuild. What a racket.

But an expensive racket, and since the people making and using the bombs aren't the ones paying for them (only pocketing the profit), the $ must come from somewhere. And with Bush's tax cuts for the rich, (ie the average person gets about $98 back and the average rich person gets over $90,000 back... hmmm, wonder which one's taxes would buy more bombs?) the average guy is gonna be feeling it pretty damn quick at this pace.

And then there is the fucking with the environment, the international disdain for diplomacy and allies, the outsourcing of jobs, and soon, what with all the continuing invasions and rebuilding and wars... a need for more and more soldiers and fewer and fewer willing volunteers... I betcha a draft before 4 yrs is up. (uhuh, he said no draft. well he said a lot of things before the 2000 election too).

So, if Kerry wins, he will be stuck cleaning up the mess in Iraq, he will have to try to get things done with this angry warmongering American public... ie he will be unlikely to get too far.

But if he loses, within two years I bet that even Bush supporters will be like 'whoa! what did we do??". uhuh.

So, yeah, let Bush win. Let him continue his insidertrading toadyism smug overspending disdainful holiday taking agressive warmongering ways. I hate to say though that as a result the world will be a less safe place (it already is... there weren't japanese being beheaded, and bombs in madrid subways, CARE workers and UN workers being beheaded and kidnapped before, nor thousands of young American soldiers dying in boobytraps and suicide bombings). The environment will be crap. Was listening to a radio show about the overwhelming increase in icebergs breaking off from the polar caps, causing collisions with boats, and flooding and things like the Inuit not being able to hunt on the ice cuz it is too thin, and polar bears too... but then the US doesn't give a rat's ass about global warming if they can have SUVs. And the American dollar will continue to decline. Bad for my budget, since instead of earning fifty percent more when I work for the US like I did when Bush came in, I earn less than 20 cents on the dollar more. How much do you want to bet that the US goes so much into debt that the Canadian Dollar ends up being worth more than the US Dollar before the next 4 yrs are up? Bad for tourism for us. But what the hell.

Maybe the Americans will remember why they got welfare and social security, unions and amendments to their constitution to guarantee rights. Those things are there for a reason. Because without them the average little american man and woman was screwed. In the thirties and before with capitalism running amok and no social security web to keep people from falling rock bottom, there were hardworking family men who lost their savings and jobs, travelling from town to town on trains, deserting their families, travelling with all their belongings in cars, etc etc etc.

But somehow several decades without a real war where your fathers and brothers and children die, or worse, are shellshocked and crippled. Several decades where any shmo investing their above minimum wage earnings can earn nice dividends. Several decades where women and black people can mostly vote, can mostly get jobs, gays can mostly not be murdered by good old boys, where we havent had continent wide droughts... and this myth installs itself that all those social things are for losers, for lazy bums, for those who can't apply themselves to the american dream.

And people think that 3000 people dying within a span of a couple hours in one city is the worst thing they can think of. Because they are not confronted with watching their children die from diahrea from lack of clean water. Or the flu by the hundreds of thousands. Or as we mentioned, overseas alone in a warzone by the thousands and thousands.

Nope. There has not been ONE SINGLE terrorist attack on American soil since september 11, 2001. But America is willing to live in fear and give up its day to day security, its savings, its health, its education, its young lives, all to be "THE MOST BULLYING NATION IN THE WORLD". oops, sorry, "THE GREATEST NATION IN THE WORLD", the nation of the whole coming century. The New American Century.

Hahaha. The broke within 4 years grind itself into the ground no civil liberties no jobs no money no education no clean air century.

Oh, I predict today Bush will win. And gloat. And there will be partying in the streets cuz he will have a clear mandate to fuck over the world in the name of Freedom and Democracy and the Free World and The God Who Loves Americans Especially Texans The Most.

I am ranting now. Yes I am. But this all sickens me. It sickens me how many times I have heard the voices of pro-Bush Americans say "He may be right or he may be wrong, but at least he does what he says". Yeah. Bin Laden does what he says too... maybe you should vote for him if right or wrong doesn't matter. "He doesn't change his mind, he sticks to his guns". uhuh. So did the suicide bombers on 9/11. I dunno. I would rather a leader who could consider changing circumstances. That didn't do what he said he would, IF it turned out to be the wrong thing. Yeah. If I say I am going to wear my bikini tomorrow and then it snows, wouldnt want to flipflop eh. Better be steadfast and wrong than to be right and change my course of action.

Oops! I am on a roll.
You get the picture. But how 50% of those polled can be pro-Bush, or ignore everything in their lives in favour of "fighting terrorism" (or rather creating it which is what is happening)... I have no clue. Mass delusion.

Happy elections people. Go vote. Yeah. Use this much vaunted democracy (or as someone pointed out "representative republic") Go get em. And good luck with your wonky election irregularities. If there was a God he would want a leader of the USA who had the good sense to say publicly that he denounces fucking around with anyone's vote. hahaha. Yay for the Leader of the U S of Hay.

nite nite folks. Thank god I"m going to a concert tomorrow night. perhaps it'll all be decided by the time I come home. I'll turn on the tv and watch Texas cheering. Unless you stop em.

wenchie
just a wee bit cynical
or perhaps realistic
from since she was about 6
and knew about Vietnam
and Apartheid
and the Berlin Wall
and all these things that were just hunky at the time.
yeah.

8 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily